top of page

I Love Big Lush



I didn't know it, but Big Lush has been a neighborhood fixture since November 2019. Yes, I've only just discovered this magical store of curios and plants.

Plant Neglect


In March 2020, the month of terror, my thoughtful stepmom surprised me with a vase cutting from a begonia plant. She put it outside my apartment door to avoid to avoid contact. The idea was that the cutting would start to root (it did) and that once it started to flourish (it didn't), I could pot it (nope).


My apartment doesn't get enough light. Even air plants don't survive this environment. Over time, the leaves turned yellow, and the root ball outgrew the vase. I didn't kill it, but I neglected it.


Spring


I'm slow to just about everything, honestly. It's not a complaint but a fact. Sometime within the last couple of weeks it occurred to me that I could freshen up my basement apartment a bit, since I've spent so much time here. Yeah, since over a year ago, Mr. Pandemic!

It's spring again, the weather's nice, and in the spirit of adventure I thought I'd stroll through my neighborhood to see what was up. Just across the street from my favorite coffee shop, Ibiza Cafe, I glanced over at the Big Lush storefront. I'd never been inside, so I figured why not?


I opened the door to a literal magical place, like Alice and Wonderland but less trippy. There was a huge, sequined parrot on display under a glass dome display, Spanish moss hanging from handmade baskets, vintage china, and so many plants, and much more art.


Anne Warnock, one of three Big Lush owners, led me to a potted spider plant. She explained that it should do well in low light. I'd think about it, I replied, not make any rash decisions. I just didn't want to nearly kill another plant when I was still failing the one I had.


Spider Plant



Adopt Swap

A day later, it occurred to me to ask Big Lush if they'd adopt my neglected plant. I mean, why not ask? I called and said that I have a weird question. Warnock agreed that it was a weird question. And she said yes! Elation!


When I arrived, she looked the begonia over and said well it's not happy in that narrow vase, and it needs soil. Yeah, I know, I said, looking down at my feet. Then I asked about the spider plant. She suggested a snake plant, which she didn't have at the moment. Home Depot or Lowe's would likely carry them.


But then she turned to me and said, you know, let's look at that spider plant again. She brought it out and handed it to me:"It's a gift."







bottom of page