top of page

Dark Sparkle IS Humor


Etymology:


Middle English: via Old French from Latin humor 'moisture', from humere, ‘humid’.


'Humor' was used in reference to bodily fluid, specifically for any of the cardinal humors. Go Hippocrates! The relative proportions of these fluids were know to affect one's mental disposition. Then in the 16th century, 'humor' to the senses ‘mood’ and ‘whim.’


 

I live or die by way of humor. And I forgot that about myself for a while. Unsurprisingly, I have felt totally apathetic toward everything — everything. I am not excited about the future post-COVID. I don't regard trees as interesting and certainly don't have an urge to hug them. Rainbows. I don't even care about rainbows!!!!!!


OK, so I've down in the dumps. Thankfully, I remembered to listen to the Comedy Bang Bang! podcast with Scott Aukerman and soooooo many featured and fictional guests. Lollygaging on a walk, I randomly chose episode #706, which featured a guest I'd never heard of: J.B. Smoove. Seriously, I had to stop walking because I was laughing so hard!


Here he is on Conan. Check out that rigor mortis face!



The thing is, Smoove is a veritable fountain of curse words; he has got a seriously dirty mother #(&@^!% mouth. That kind of comedy doesn't get me giggling typically, but JB Smoove, he's the whole show! His comedy is physical, quirky, and even has a strangely positive message. Check out this YouTube clip of his bit "Don't Move to L.A."


I'm obsessive, so of course I researched everything he's done and does and it's a lot! But I found a big gem, his daily podcast "May I Elaborate? Daily Wisdom from JB Smoove." Ridiculous! Nonsensical explanations of page-a-day quotes, like “Be willing to be a beginner every single day.” - Meister Eckhart . BTW Smoove ended up berating the beginner sandwich maker at Subway who fucked up his order, not at all on point with the quote. I love it. He is OVER the top — his outfits, voice, weird-ass ideas.


SHOO! Thanks for the laugh, man. I needed it!





bottom of page