top of page

Tree-Hugging #2

So, I've kept with my tree-hugging mission. Almost every day, I hug a tree in Frederick, Maryland where I live.


Some days, I struggle to find a tree to hug. I don't know about you, but I tend to overthink things. Should I wait until I feel compelled to hug a certain tree? Does that tree look like it needs a hug? Or that one? Will someone see me? Wait, I don't care if they see me. Right? I've decided to hug unabashedly, right? Oh, but I don't feel like it today. I don't want to feel obligated.


Well, the latter thought is one I take seriously. I don't ruin the magic by forcing tree hugs. If I don't feel like, I don't.


Last thought . . . . I hugged the tree in the photo today, and while I hugged it I realized that it will never reject me. This tree is just here, available, whenever. It won't pull away, so I can hug for as long as I need. That amazes me! Unconditional acceptance.



bottom of page